8th Annual TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards Nominees Announced

If you could pick any skaters to be recognized as the best, who would they be? Well, we’ve asked you and over 100 pro skaters that question. After weeks of calling, e-mailing, polling, deciphering, figuring, counting and recounting the votes, the nominee results and the Legend Award recipient for the 8th Annual TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards are in:

Street Skater

Dennis Busenitz
Chris Cole
Daewon Song

Vert Skater

Jake Brown
Pierre-Luc Gagnon
Danny Way


Johnny Layton
Jereme Rogers
Omar Salazar


Baker 3 — Baker
Skate More — DVS
New Blood — Zero

Video Part

Chris Cole — New Blood
Bryan Herman — Baker 3
Daewon Song — Skate More



Readers’ Poll

Dennis Busenitz
Chris Cole
Ryan Sheckler

2006 Legend Award Recipient

Mark Gonzales

Mark Gonzales. His skating, style, art, personality, and history have changed the face of skateboarding and embody what the Legend Award is all about. TWS will be honoring him, announcing the winners of the 8th Annual TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards, and holding the world premiere of A Time To Shine in Hollywood, California on Thursday, June 1, 2006. Admission is by invitation only. Be there. Check back for awards show photos, coverage, videos, and rumors of all the madness shortly afterward.

Look for the September issue of TransWorld SKATEboarding, dedicated to the award winners, showcasing the reasons why you and the pros picked each one of them. Also not to be missed, Legend Award recipient Mark Gonzales’ feature, photos, and interview. On stands July 25, 2006. Get it.

Thank you to this year’s Skate Awards and A Time To Shine sponsors:

Nike, Plan B, Val Surf, and Red Bull.

Check the full press release to the left.