Winners To Be Awarded On February 27, 2013 In Hollywood, California

Since its inception, the TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards have become the premier, go-to annual event for the skateboarding industry. Now in its 15th year, the TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards Presented By New Era will officially recognize and honor the year’s top skaters and video as voted on by the TWS editorial staff. Thousands of TWS readers will also have the chance to vote online to determine the winner of the only award in the industry picked solely by skateboarding fans themselves—the New Era Readers’ Choice Award. In addition, TWS will be presenting the Eric Stricker Memorial Award, in memory of the late Eric Stricker, former editor of TransWorld SKATEboarding, and the TWS Legend Award, recognizing deserving recipients who have dedicated their hearts and souls to skateboarding. All winners will be announced and awarded with their trophies during the invite-only live event on February 27, 2013 in Hollywood, California.

Directly following the awards presentation, TransWorld SKATEboarding will host the world premiere of its 25th full-length skate video, Perpetual Motion, the newest film by Jon Holland and Chris Thiessen. Additional public video premiere locations will be announced at a later date.

The official nominees for this year’s awards are (in alphabetical order):

Best Rookie
Gilbert Crockett
Nick Garcia
Jake Johnson

Best Team

Best Video
Parental Advisory
Pretty Sweet
The Cinematographer Project

Best Video Part
Austyn Gillette, Austyn Unlimited
Marc Johnson, Pretty Sweet
Guy Mariano, Pretty Sweet

The New Era Readers’ Choice nominees, TWS Legend, and Eric Stricker Memorial Awards recipients will be announced at a later date. The 15th Annual TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards is presented by New Era and is proud to be supported by its additional sponsors—Red Bull, GoPro, and Pabst Blue Ribbon.

For more information on TransWorld SKATEboarding and the awards show, go online to Stay tuned to TWS’s social feeds at @transworldskate (#TWSAWARDS2013) for all the up-to-the-minute updates on this year’s awards.