4th Annual TransWorld Skateboarding Awards

If you didn’t get a chance to make it to the John Anson Ford Theater in Hollywood last Thursday for the 4th Annual TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards, you missed a great night of chillin’ with the best skateboarders on the planet.

After the VIP party, the theater opened to the mobs of skate fans waiting outside the gates. Once all the seats in the house were filled, TransWorld SKATEboarding Editor In Chief, Dave Swift took to the stage to explain the awards and introduce host Otis “O” Barthoulameu.

First up in the evening’s events were the World Cup point totals. Presented by Don and Danielle Bostic, the winners were Vanessa Torres for overall female, Rune Glifberg for vert, Chris Senn for street, and Andy Macdonald for the overall title. Each winner walked away with a trophy, a new iBook and iPod, and the respect of their peers.

Steve Berra presented the first two awards of the evening, first to the boys over at Flip for Best Team. Geoff Rowley accepted the award on behalf of the team, while Bob Burnquist accepted the award for Best Vert Skater. Burnquist appeared on stage again after his win to present the Rookie Of The Year award to Mark Appleyard and the Best Video award to Chomp On This. Atiba Jefferson and crew accepted the award and got their grope on with the award girl. Steve Berra also presented the Best Video Part to Heath Kirchart for his part in Sight Unseen, and Arto Saari captured the Best Street award. “O” presented the Readers’ Choice award to Rodney Mullen who not only made out with a trophy but a complete bound and engraved set of every TransWorld SKATEboarding issue ever printed.

The highlight of the evening came when Tony Hawk presented the TransWorld SKATEboarding Legend award to Tony Alva. Alva took to the stage with daughter Avalon who declared, “Alva’s number one!” Her dad thanked everyone who helped him along the way and accepted a trophy and a framed photo taken by Glen Friedman to a standing ovation.

The night closed with the premiere of In Bloom, the latest TransWorld SKATEboarding video. The incredibly well-done video included Alex Gall, Chris Cole, Tony Trujillo, Mike Taylor, Bob Burnquist, Paul Rodriguez, and Evan Hernandez. Much love and man hugs go to Jon Holland and Ewan Bowman for suffering through the sleepless nights and caffeinated jitters for the past few weeks.

The 4th Annual TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards are presented in conjunction with World Cup, TransWorld SKATEboarding, TransWorld SKATEboarding Business, and skateboarding.com.

Best Team – Flip
Best Vert Skater – Bob Burnquist
Rookie of the Year – Mark Appleyard
Best Video – Chomp On This
Best Video Part – Heath Kirchart
Best Street – Arto Saari
Readers’ Choice – Rodney Mullen
TWSkateboarding Legend Award – Tony Alva

Visit the World Cup of Skateboarding at:www.wcsk8.com