Last night at the Music Box Theatre in Hollywood, the first annual L.A. Skate Film Festival went down with Flip’s Extremely Sorry winning US Best Film (which TWSHallelujah was also nominated for) and Machotaildrop winning Best Independent Film. With an academy consisting of some of skateboarding’s finest filmmakers, photographers, and producers, it was a good night and a great start to building a needed venue for recognizing skateboarding’s best documentarians and video makers. Check out some photos below from the night and the official list of winners:

Best Emerging Filmmaker: Symmetry, Directed and Produced by Dayman Cash
Best International Film: Plank, Directed by Billy Pols, Produced by Maarten Kuit. Executive Producer: Jeroen Van Den Idsert
Best Skate Shop Video: The Dango is Dead, Directed and produced by Joe Perrin. Executive Producer: John Montesi
Best Independent Film: Machotaildrop, Directed by Corey Adams and Alex Craig, Produced Oliver Linsley and Jared Valentine, Executive Producers: Shon Tomlin and CJ Olivares
Best Documentary: Skateistan: To Live and Skate Kabul, directed by Orlando Von Einsiedel, Produced by Orlando Von Einsiedel and Louis Figgis. Executive Producers: Jon Prever, Thanh Ma, Rod Stanley
Best Commercial: Nestle Aero, Directed by Ty Evans, Produced by Nathan De La Rionda. Executive Producer: Dana Garman
Best US Film: Extremely Sorry, directed by Flip Productions, produced by Ewan Bowman. Executive Producers: Geoff Rowley and Jeremy Fox, Claymation: Edgar Alvarez, Original Music: Baron
Best Soundtrack: Extremely Sorry. Original Music: Baron
Best Editing: Wood, Directed by Colin Kennedy, Produced by Cullen Pythress. Executive Producer: Tim Gavin
Best Photography: Skateistan: To Live and Skate Kabul

Photos by Skyler Wilder


The crowd.


Hosts Felix Arguelles, Justin Regan, and event organizer Frabrice.


Outside the Music Box.



The guys behind Machotaildrop, Corey Adams and Alex Craig, and the skater/actor in the film, Anthony Amedori.


Jamie Thomas and Geoff Rowley.


Me and Chris Ray.


The legendary Craig Stecyk was the special honoree for the night.


Flip took home the Best Soundtrack and Best US Film for Extremely Sorry.