Coming May 8-9th to Detroit's Hart Plaza is a brand new street skateboarding competition from the mind of Ryan Sheckler. Red Bull Hart Lines sets out to produce a high energy, high impact skateboard event featuring an innovative new contest format and showcases over 20 of the world's best skateboarders today. Check out the course preview video:

A competition unlike any other, the original contest format will feature two distinctive lanes, each with its own unique set of skateable features. The course itself incorporates a mix of existing stair sets, rails and ledges in Hart Plaza, along with additional custom-built features designed by California RampWorks. Each athlete will be required to skate each lane once, then for their third run, the athlete can select either lane to better their score. The top score from each lane will then be averaged to determine the skater's overall score. "This is a start to finish contest, including an element of speed, with a very unique course design that allows each skater to express themselves," adds event creator and competitor Ryan Sheckler. "If I had to explain the contest and skateboarding in one word, it would be 'fun' and that's what I am going for."
With the majority of the professional skateboarding scene based in California, Sheckler aimed to bring a street competition to a place where passion collides with innovation. "Detroit is an amazing city with a rich history. Skateboarding has passion and I want to use that to impact the Midwest and skate scene as a whole." The competition takes place over two days, with qualifiers happening on Friday between 2-5pm, and the finals running on Saturday between 2-5pm. The plaza opens at 1pm both days for spectators of all ages to come and cheer on their heroes, and the event is free and open to the public.
Sheckler is not the only big name to compete in this first year event. Many of the biggest stars in skateboarding will be on hand. Below is a full list of competitors:
1. Alec Majerus – USA – 19
2. Boo Johnson – USA – 22
3. Chris Cole – USA – 33
4. Curren Caples – USA – 19
5. David Gonzalez – COL – 24
6. David Reyes – USA – 25
7. Evan Smith – USA – 24
8. Felipe Gustavo – BR – 24
9. Ishod Wair – USA – 23
10. Justin Brock – USA – 27
11. Leo Romero – USA – 28
12. Nick Merlino – USA – 27
13. Nyjah Huston – USA – 20
14. Riley Hawk – USA – 22
15. Ryan Decenzo – CAN – 28
16. Ryan Sheckler – USA – 25
17. Sean Malto – USA – 25
18. Shane O'Neill – AU — 25
19. Torey Pudwill – USA – 24
20. Wes Kremer – USA – 25
21. Youness Amrani – BEL – 23
Hart Lines airs as part of the Red Bull Signature Series on NBC, Saturday, August 2nd at 12:30pm PST/3:30pm EST. For additional event information and updates, please visit and follow @redbullDET #hartlines.