Street League Championship Newsletter

How The Course May Determine The Champion

The course may in fact determine the 2012 Street League Champion. Nyjah, P Rod, Chaz, Malto, Chris Cole, Bastien Salabanzi, Sheckler or Luan Oliveira. Any of the 8 pros in the Street League Championship could take it. But, only on August 26th will we get to see just how the course and these skaters combine to conclude Street League 2012 with a bang. Find out which features play to each Finalist’s strengths, and weaknesses. Full report.

Championship 2012 Pro Highlights

The Street League 2012 Championship goes down on August 26th LIVE from Prudential Center Arena in Newark, New Jersey. The top 8 ranked pros will go head-to-head in a winner-take-all contest for $200,000, a one of a kind Nixon Championship watch and Ring and the title of Street League Champion. Here’s a look at how the 8 Championship pros made their way to the biggest contest in skateboarding history with the highlights from from each pro’s 2012 season thus far. Watch now.
Championship Preview 9 Club Recap

This year of the series has had more scores in the 9's than ever before. Even with adjustments in format and judging criteria taken into account, the truth is that the pros are just doing harder and harder tricks at Street League. There are still however only a few pros in the League who have ever rolled away from a 9 point trick, only six out of the 31 pros that have ever skated in Street League. This year, of the five different pros who scored 9 point tricks, four of them are in the upcoming Championship this Sunday August 26th on ESPN2 at 5pm ET/2pm PT. Full report.
“Scared Money Don’t Make Money”

Here is an in-depth look at what P Rod did just a little bit better in Arizona to walk away with his first Street League win and whether he can put those elements together again at the Championship in New Jersey. Looking forward to the Championship, knowing the course layout will help any would-be gamblers know who may have the advantage throughout the course. But, for Paul Rodriguez, ending up the champion depends largely on his Run Section scores and staying consistent in the Big Section. For the full-analysis, read more.