The Grammys Of Skateboarding

Hollywood, California-

Skateboarders, industry people, and fans dressed up and got down at the Fifth Annual TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards on Thursday, May 22 at the John Anson Ford Amphitheater in Hollywood, California.

Hundreds of skateboarding’s most recognizable faces showed up early, at 6:00 p.m., for a well-stocked pre-party, thanks to alcohol sponsors Jà¤germeister and Grey Goose Vodka.

At eight o’clock, everyone piled into the amphitheater for the presentation to begin. Don and Danielle Bostick started the show off by presenting the awards for World Cup Skateboarding. Winners of the WCS awards walked away with a trophy and a new G4 laptop computer courtesy of Apple, one of WCS’s sponsors. Rodil de Araujo Jr. won the WC Street Skater award, Amy Caron won the Female Street, and Jen O’Brien won the Female Vert, accepting with a heartwarming speech. Andy Macdonald swept the World Cup awards by taking both the Vert Skater and the Best All-Around awards. This marks the seventh time Macdonald has won the Best All-Around award, and for his efforts he was given two trophies, a new G4, and a 30GB iPod.

Following the World Cup awards, MC Otis “O” Bartholomeu introdced the Riders’ Choice segment. Hundreds of professional skateboarders were asked to choose their favorites of 2002. The Riders’ Choice awards carry a great deal of respect in that skaters are judged by their peers.

O handed the microphone over to Felix Arguelles to present the award for Best Team, and the riders voted for Flip. After waiting a few awkward moments for someone to accept the award, it was accepted, strangley, by Julio De La Cruz, who isn’t affiliated with Flip at all.

Ako and Atiba Jefferson came to the stage to announce Flip’s Sorry as Video Of The Year. By this time Flip pro Mark Appleyard turned up and accepted the award with a very brief speech.

Arguelles again took the podium and announced Danny Way as Vert Skater Of The Year and Paul Rodriguez as Rookie Of The Year. Both skaters were flattered and accepted their awards humbly.

The award for Video Part Of The Year went to recent Flip acquisition P.J. Ladd. Ladd was not available to accept the award, not suprisingly, as he was in Boston, Massachusetts filming for the Flip DVD.

Finally, Flip’s Appleyard was once again called to the stage, and the Jefferson brothers presented him with the final Riders’ Choice award for Street Skater Of The Year.

Next came the Readers’ Choice award. For months, kids across the world had cast votes for their favorite of 2002. The kids chose Jamie Thomas as the best skater, and he accepted the award from a microphone-shy Rodney Mullen, delivering an acceptance speech filled with thanks.

The Legend award went to Duane Peters, whose band, The Hunns, played a short set after the awards, complete with Corey Parks, the scantily clad, fire-breathing bassist-also Peters’ girlfriend.

After The Hunns finished, the audience was treated to Free Your Mind, the new TransWorld video, featuring Dan Drehobl, Rob Welsh, and Darrell Stanton, who all had outstanding parts. Filmer-directors Jon Holland, Ewan Bowman, and Jason Rodriguez put together an unforgettable video. Free Your Mind will be available June 2003.