Globe World Cup Skateboarding ReturnsTo Melbourne, Australia February 14, 2004

For the third year in a row, the Globe World Cup Skateboarding contest brings the world’s best international skateboarders to the Rod Laver Arena in Melbourne, Australia for the kick-off of the 2004 World Cup Skateboarding series. On Saturday, February 14th , fans will once again be treated to the biggest names, largest payout and best contest to date, however, this year Globe World Cup Skateboarding returns with a completely new approach; the all-new “Street Riot event.

Developed as a contest for skateboarders, by skateboarders, “Street Riot will stage an invitation-only street competition with some of the biggest rock stars in the sport already signed up to attend. Names like Danny Way, Tom Penny, Eric Koston, Chad Muska, Geoff Rowley, Ryan Sheckler, Andrew Reynolds, Dustin Dollin and Greg Lutzka are already confirmed to compete. Add to that a USD$66,500 prize purse for both the “Street Riot event and the Gallaz Skate Jam, World Cup Skateboarding ranking points and wrap it all up with a huge line-up of parties ending in the 9th annual 900 Degrees bash, and you have the “can’t miss event of 2004.

“Last year we had over 18,000 skateboard fans from around the country witness an unbelievable event, said Globe World Cup Skateboarding event director Steve Douglas. “The finals received a full-house standing ovation which was a World Cup Skateboarding first. This year, with the high-quality field that will be coming, fans will again get to see the best in the world. Many of the skaters attending this year’s event, like Muska and Penny, have not competed in contests for years, and never in Australia, so it will be a special treat for skateboarding fans to see their heroes in action.

Skaters for the high-profile “Street Riot contest have been hand picked for the ‘invite-only’ final. In addition, a select field of invited skaters will compete for the remaining wild card positions before moving on to skate against the invited top 8 and battle it out for the USD$20,000 first-place prize in the finals. In addition to the international line-up, two Australians will be selected to compete from the twelve state finalists of the Australian Skateboarding Title series that will take place nationally this Australian Summer.

“We’re calling the event “Street Riot because we will see the absolute best street skateboarders in the world competing on a course we have worked with Dave Duncan of World Cup Skateboarding to build added Douglas. “The invitees are the A-list of skateboarding and include legendary vert skater and current World Record Holder Danny Way, 2003 X Games Gold Medallist Eric Koston and the newly crowned 2003 World Cup Skateboarding Champion Ryan Sheckler.

Practice and media sessions will be held on Friday, February 13th with the event itself being held on Valentine’s Day, February 14th. The tight format, quality of riders and venue, and the Australian crowds who have proven they want to see top quality skateboarding will make sure this is an event not to be missed.

Fans can also join in the pure skateboarding mayhem by entering to win a grand prize five-day, four-night trip for two to the “Street Riot contest in Melbourne including airfare, hotel accommodations and premium tickets to the event. Nineteen first-place winners will also be chosen who can enter to win a special footwear and clothing package from Globe. Presented by Globe in conjunction with Transworld Skateboarding, fans can log on to, or

For additional contest details and restrictions log on to .

All of the skateboarding and behind-the-scenes action at “Street Riot will be captured on film for broadcast on television and DVD in Springg 2004. Log on to today for info and updates on the 2004 “Street Riot event.

Confirmed skaters to date: Danny Way, Tom Penny, Eric Koston, Geoff Rowley, Dustin Dollin, Chad Muska, Tony Trujillo, Ryan Sheckler, Andrew Reynolds, Mark Appleyard, Chris Senn, Rick McCrank, Arto Saari, Greg Lutzka, Ali Boulala, Paul Machnau, Bastien Salabanzi, Mike Vallely, Tosh Townend, Matt Mumford, Chad Bartie, Chad Fernandez, Chris Haslam, Carlos de Andrade, Daniel Viera and Colt Cannon